Happiness Hacks with ISHKA

09 Jul 2020


❤️ Day 1 - Root Chakra ❤️

Muladhara or the root chakra is one of the seven primary chakras according to Hindu tantrism. It is symbolised by a lotus with four petals and the colour red.

It is important to keep this balanced so that you have a solid foundation. The root chakra is comprised of whatever grounds you to stability in life, such as your everyday basic needs - food, water, shelter, etc. This chakra is located at the base of the spine, the pelvic floor, and the first three vertebrae. It is responsible for your sense of safety and security.

When there is an imbalance in the root chakra you may experience anxiety disorders, fears, or nightmares. Physical imbalances may manifest as problems in the colon, with the bladder, with the lower back, leg, or feet. Eating disorders may also be a sign of a root chakra imbalance.

To heal, meditation helps to connect you to a higher plane and serves to ground you. The use of yoga, mantras, colours, and gems may also aid with opening up a blocked chakra. Chanting or toning sounds help bring you back to balance, just as music brings people together. Sounds help to create vibrations that reverberate through the body - vibrations that help the cells work together in synchronistic harmony.

Want to learn more about the root chakra? Visit the friendly team at ISHKA Elizabeth (we won't tell them if you check out the range online before visiting 😉)

For more on ISHKA Elizabeth, click here.



Mercury, who? It’s time for Neptune to get in retrograde. 

While Neptune retrograde happens every year, due to its timing and what we've been experiencing lately, its effects may be felt more than usual.

In astrology, Neptune, the mythical ruler of the sea, is associated with fantasy, illusion, escape, creativity, and dreams. During retrograde, the Neptunian fog is lifted, and you have the ability to see past the illusions that have been holding you back. This will allow us to manifest hopes and dreams that align with our new reality.

Honesty is a recurring theme throughout this retrograde. It can make you question what is true and what is an illusion. It is important to communicate honestly with yourself, and others. This isn't a time to feed negative thoughts - work to have compassion for your past self and for others.

What elements can expect...

FIRE 🔥 Aries, Leo, Sagittarius: Detox your mind and body - fine tune your intuition and trust yourself more.

EARTH 🌏 Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn: Give yourself a break from being everyone's rock, and focus on your own self care.

AIR 💨 Gemini, Libra, Aquarius: Be honest and confront yourself - what are you ignoring in your life or what are you putting off?

WATER 💧 Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces: Trust your intuition! Love, accept, and remain secure in yourself, and take time to turn to grounding practices to help you feel balanced.

Given that this Neptune retrograde will take place over an extended period of time (through to November 28, 2020), it’s good practice for all signs to be reflective and honest about where they see themselves in relation to their ‘dream life’ or future goals. And that’s not to say that your dreams now won’t come to fruition! In fact, this retrograde is a huge celestial opportunity to make sure everything is in alignment. 

Want more Happiness Hacks? Visit the friendly ISHKA Elizabeth team!

For more on ISHKA Elizabeth, click here.

ISHKA Happniess Hack #2


Deep breathing exercises are a super-effective and super-simple way to ease stress.

Practising simple breathing exercises daily can make a big difference to your state of mind and help overcome stress and anxiety.

Our friends at ISHKA have come up with 6 simple breathing exercises to help you stress less, and smile more!

STEP 1: Place your hand on your head, and the base of your skull. Close your eyes, focus on your breath, eliminate negative thoughts.

STEP 2: Keep eyes closed, rest hands gently over the throat.

STEP 3: Place hands over heart space, focus on breathing 

STEP 4: Place one hand on heart, one hand on lower belly - focus on breathing

STEP 5: Place both hands on lower belly, continuing to focus on breathing 

STEP 6: Practice the Pranayama technique - Nadhi Shodhana, also known as alternate nostril breathing

Spending a little bit of time each day on yourself and your happiness is time well spent.

Want more Happiness Hacks? Visit the friendly ISHKA Elizabeth team!

For more on ISHKA Elizabeth, click here.